About Jakarta


Jakarta is the capital city of the Republic of Indonesia. As the capital city, Jakarta is a melting pot of various ethnic groups’ representatives, such as Javanese, Sundanese, Bugis, Minang, Chinese, Arab and many more. Jakarta has an estimated population of 10,075,310 (2014) with population density 4,383.53 / km2. It is center for Indonesia’s economics, culture and politics. Known as the twelfth largest city in the world, Jakarta metropolitan area is also known as Jabodetabek. This area is the sixth-largest in the world. Jakarta was formerly known as Sunda Kelapa (397-1527), Jayakarta (1527-1619), Batavia (1619-1942), and Djakarta (1942-1972).


Jakarta is subject to a tropical climate with air temperatures ranging between minimum of 25°C to maximum of 35°C and air humidity varies between 75 and 85 percent.


Nowadays, Jakarta is the country’s administrative, commercial, industrial, and transportation center and is known to have the largest and the most comprehensive communication networks in Southeast Asia. Jakarta also possess special territory status having the privilege like a province, consisting of Greater Jakarta, covering of 637.44 square km area. This capital city is grouped into five city administrative areas and one district administrative areas


As a big city, Jakarta has numerous luxury shopping malls which have become the city’s most popular hang-out spots. Asides from the shopping malls, Jakarta also offers various kinds of interesting destinations:

  • Historical Monuments & Buildings. Eg: National Monument (Monas), Old Town (Kota Tua)
  • Entertainment parks & resorts. Eg: Ancol, Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (TMII)
  • Eg: Taman Menteng, Taman Suropati & Ragunan Zoo
  • Eg: Museum Nasional, Museum Bahari, Museum, Fatahillah

For more information visit www.jakarta.go.id